Mark Twain National Forest Wilderness Areas

There are seven designated wilderness areas found within the Mark Twain National Forest, and each one has its own unique characteristics. Open glades, dense forest, clear creeks and streams, bluffs and rock formations, springs and waterfalls, historic sites, plants and wildlife are just some of the many reasons to visit a wilderness area.

If you are looking for peace and solitude, and just want to get away from it all, try a National Forest wilderness area. With the smallest area at just over 4,200 acres in size, you can truly get lost and rediscover yourself all in one trip.

Currently, I have not been able to gather enough information yet on the beautiful and secluded wilderness areas found within the Mark Twain National Forest. As more information on them becomes available, and I am able to gather pictures of these areas, I will place that information here.

Wilderness Areas

  1. Bell Mountain Wilderness
  2. Devil's Backbone Wilderness
  3. Hercules Glades Wilderness
  4. Irish Wilderness
  5. Paddy Creek Wilderness
  6. Piney Creek Wilderness
  7. Rock Pile Mountain Wilderness